Member Login

Log in

Lucille Terry Preservation Award

The East Texas Historical Association and the Texas Forestry Museum co-sponsor the annual Lucille Terry Preservation Award named in honor of Mrs. Lucille Terry who was instrumental in the restoration of many historic homes and public buildings in Jefferson.

The award honors individuals and groups within the East Texas area for their contribution to the preservation of historic properties and structures at least fifty years old. The award consists of a bronze sculpture of an actual East Texas dogtrot cabin by artist Buck Cheavens of Diboll. It is approximately 12" long by 18" wide and 8" high. Since 1986, individuals and groups in Nacogdoches, Rusk, Anderson, Jefferson, Dallas, Navarro, Houston, Panola, and Gregg counties have received the award for restoration of schools, synagogues, trading posts, jails, banks, farm houses and mansions.

The selection committee votes each November and the award is presented the following February at the Spring Meeting of the East Texas Historical Association. If your nominee does not win, it is held for future consideration. Although historical significance and accuracy of preservation are part of the criteria, community involvement receives preferential consideration.

Most counties in East Texas have structures and Recorded Texas Historic Landmarks that qualify for the Terry Award. Please duplicate this form and pass the information on to interested persons in your area.

Terry Award Flyer


Each nomination must include:

1. a completed application--download application here

2. a concise description (not to exceed three double-spaced pages) of the resource’s historical significance, the preservation project, and the project’s impact upon the community.

3. before project photographs (photocopies of newspaper clippings accepted)

4. photographs of completed project


DEADLINE: Nominations must be received no later than December 5 (unless a later date is posted on nomination form), for consideration of the following year's award.

NOTE: Nominations submitted in previous years need not be resubmitted.

East Texas Historical Association
P.O. Box 6223
SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962

Copyright © 2016
East Texas Historical Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software