Member Login

Log in

The L. Patrick Hughes Legacy Award

This award recognizes exemplary work of county historical commissions and small, non-profit heritage groups in the East Texas region. The L. Patrick Hughes Legacy Award, which includes an honorarium of $500 to fund further work, is designed to honor those organizations that have, over time, demonstrated a continuing interest in the preservation and promotion of regional heritage through a variety of programs. While applicants for the award need not be members of the ETHA, the winner will be selected in part based on how its ongoing efforts reflect the central goal of the association: to foster the preservation and enhancement of East Texas' rich and diverse past.             

Founded in 1962 on the campus of Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, the ETHA celebrated its 50th anniversary throughout 2012, and the establishment of the new award is a reflection of the association's pride in its own history and outreach. The winner of the inaugural  L. Patrick Hughes Legacy Award will be announced at the ETHA conference at the October Fall meeting with a more formal public ceremony, including presentation of the honorarium, scheduled later in the organization's home county.

Nominees will be from the East Texas region. 
Organizations may nominate themselves, although nominations will also be accepted from other groups or individuals. 
Nominees are not required to be members of the ETHA, although preference will be given to those organizations that are.

Nominations will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Evidence of long-term commitment to heritage preservation or interpretation (rather than for a single project);
  • Diversity of programming;
  • Evidence of team/organizational involvement (rather than the work of one individual);
  • Partnership with other local organizations;
  • A commitment to public heritage education.

The nomination forms are due by August 10th. The winner will be notified via email and announced at the October Fall meeting of the ETHA. The formal presentation of the award, however, will occur in the organization's home town or county. 
The application form may be filled out online and must be submitted via email only to Dan K. Utley, Chair,  L. Patrick Hughes Legacy Award Committee ( Questions regarding the award requirements may also be sent to the same email address.


L. Patrick Hughes Legacy Award nomination form.docx

East Texas Historical Association
P.O. Box 6223
SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962

Copyright © 2016
East Texas Historical Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software